Press Release - Outgoing Chief Executive Officers

(4th May, 2017)

Congratulations and thank you to outgoing Government Chief Executive Officers.

The Public Service Commission on behalf of the Government of Tonga joins others in conveying their warm congratulations on the recent appointment of the CEO of the Ministry of Tourism, Mrs Fekitamoeloa Katoa Utoikamanu by the Secretary General of the United Nations, Antonio Guterres, to the position of United Nations High Representative for the Least Developed Countries, Landlocked Developing Countries and Small Island Developing States.

Mrs Fekitamoeloa Katoa ‘Utoikamanu of Tonga, had previously served in various capacities in Government over a twenty six year period with the Central Planning Department, Ministry of Finance and Ministry of Foreign Affairs, and since January 2017 was the Chief Executive Officer of the Ministry of Tourism, Tonga.  Mrs ‘Utoikamanu is expected to commence in this prestigious position on the 20th May. Whilst this is a loss to the Government and particularly to the Ministry of Tourism; this is indeed a high level recognition of a Tongan’s calibre and a strategic opportunity and gain for Tonga as a nation and the Pacific Islands, to benefit from and to showcase its uniqueness to all small island states and 91 other countries who will be under Mrs Utoikamanu’s watch.  The position amongst other things assists the Secretary General in the full mobilisation and coordination of all parts of the UN System for follow up & monitoring of the Programme of Action for the three groups of vulnerable countries, including the SAMOA pathway for the Small Island Developing States (SIDS).

The Commission also wishes to recognise with much gratitude and to extend best wishes to all the outgoing CEOs in the current financial year who have served the Government of Tonga with dedication and zeal.  This includes  Mrs Losaline Ma’asi, the former CEO of the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Forests;  Mrs Mele Vaitohi, former CEO of the Ministry of Justice; Mr Tatafu Moeaki, former CEO of the Ministry of Finance and National Planning; and Mrs Moana F Taukolo, former CEO of the Ministry of Commerce, Consumer, Trade, Innovation & Labour.